BET Hip Hop Awards 2014: Nominations List, Drake Leads

Written by on 4 September 2014

The nominations are in! BET have unveiled the people that could be walking away with an award at this year’s BET Hip Hop Awards.

Drake leads the way with eight nominations, including best hip-hop video for ‘Worst Behaviour’ and Best Live Performer, while Jay Z, Future and Pharrell follow closely behind with six nods each.

The awards will be taped on Saturday, September 20, 2014 at the Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center in Atlanta, GA for the ninth year running, and will premiere on Friday, October 17, 2014 on BET’s International network in the UK on Sky 187, Virgin 184 and Freesat 140.

Take a look at the full nominations list below:

Best Hip Hop Video

Drake – ‘Worst Behavior’
Future feat. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino – ‘Move That Doh’
Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX – ‘Fancy’
J. Cole feat. TLC – ‘Crooked Smile’
Nicki Minaj – ‘Pills N Potions’
Wiz Khalifa – ‘We Dem Boyz’

Best Collabo, Duo or Group

Eminem f/ Rihanna – ‘The Monster’
Future f/ Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino – ‘Move That Doh’
JAY Z f/ Justin Timberlake – ‘Holy Grail’
ScHoolboy Q f/ BJ The Chicago Kid – ‘Studio’
YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan – ‘My Hitta’

Best Live Performer

Kanye West
Kendrick Lamar

Lyricist of the Year

J. Cole
Kendrick Lamar
Nicki Minaj

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom
Chris Robinson
Director X
Dre Films
Hype Williams

DJ of the Year

DJ Drama
DJ Envy
DJ Khaled
DJ Mustard
DJ Scream

Producer of the Year

DJ Mustard
Drumma Boy
Mike WiLL Made It

MVP of the Year

DJ Mustard
Nicki Minaj

Track of the Year

‘Cut Her Off’ (Remix) – Produced by Will-A-Fool (K Camp f/ Lil Boosie, YG & Too $hort)
‘Move That Doh’ – Produced by Mike WiLL Made It (Future f/ Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino)
‘My Hitta’ – Produced by DJ Mustard (YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan)
‘Studio’ – Produced by Swiff D (ScHoolboy Q f/ BJ The Chicago Kid)
‘Worst Behavior’ – Produced by DJ Dahi (Drake)

Album of the Year

Drake – ‘Nothing Was The Same’
Eminem – ‘The Marshall Mathers LP 2’
Future – ‘Honest’
Rick Ross – ‘Mastermind’
ScHoolboy Q – ‘Oxymoron’
Yo Gotti – ‘I Am’

Who Blew Up Award

Iggy Azalea
Rich Homie Quan
ScHoolboy Q
Young Thug

Hustler of the Year

Dr. Dre
Rick Ross

Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip Hop Style)

A$AP Rocky
Kanye West
Nicki Minaj
Young Thug

Best Club Banger

Future f/ Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino – ‘Move That Doh’ (Produced by Mike WiLL Made It)
K Camp f/ Lil Boosie, YG & Too $hort – ‘Cut Her Off’ (Remix) (Produced by Will-A-Fool)
Migos – ‘Fight Night’ (Produced by Stack Boy Twaun)
Wiz Khalifa – ‘We Dem Boyz’ (Produced by Detail)
YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan – ‘My Hitta’ (Produced by DJ Mustard)
Young Thug – ‘Stoner’ (Produced by Dun Deal)

Best Mixtape

Action Bronson – ‘Blue Chips 2’
Fabolous – ‘The Soul Tape 3’
Migos – ‘No Label 2’
Rich Homie Quan – ‘I Promise I Will Never Stop Going In’
Wiz Khalifa – ’28 Grams’

Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse

B.o.B – ‘Paranoid’ (Ty Dolla $ign f/ B.o.B)
B.o.B – ‘Up Down’ (Do This All Day) (T-Pain f/ B.o.B)
Drake – ‘Who Do You Love’ (YG f/ Drake)
Kendrick Lamar – ‘Control’ (Big Sean f/ Kendrick Lamar & Jay Electronica)
Pharrell – ‘Move That Doh’ (Future f/ Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino)

Impact Track

Common feat. Vince Staples – ‘Kingdom’
Lecrae – ‘Nuthin’
Lupe Fiasco – ‘Mission’
The Roots feat. Patty Cash – ‘Never’
Talib Kweli feat. Abby Dobson – ‘State of Grace’

People’s Champ Award

Drake – ‘Worst Behavior’
Future feat. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino – ‘Move That Doh’
Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX – ‘Fancy’
Wiz Khalifa – ‘We Dem Boyz’
YG feat. Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, Meek Mill & Rich Homie Quan – ‘My Hitta’ (Remix)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

West Side

Current track